Biggest Loser criticism… on a running website!?

I did another 5K this weekend. Bettered my time by about 30 seconds, which is exciting (particularly given that my second race was cold, rainy, and hilly, in contrast to the perfect weather and nearly flat landscape of the first 5k) – yay me!

So I’m poking around online, looking for another race to run in May. I stumbled upon this article, posted on the website of a company that hosts and organizes races: The Biggest Loser TV Contest: A Big Loser. It’s a good article,with a some fat acceptance messages tucked in there. Not perfect, but good – and surprising to find on an athetic competition site, I thought.

What do you think?


5 responses to “Biggest Loser criticism… on a running website!?

  1. Thank you so much for passing on this article! Let me just say, as a runner myself, definately don’t count us out as FA allies. I think most of the adult running community (outside of highschool competitive running) tend to follow more of a HAES approach to life. Plus I was horrified to learn that they made the biggest loser participants run(or run/walk) in a half-marathon without any kind of gradual mileage…I’m sure it’s no surprise after that I saw one contestant who looked injured after that.

  2. That’s a great article! I’ve never watched the show because to me it never seemed right or healthy to lose weight as quickly as the show advocates. I’m much more inclined to agree with Lindsay on following the HAES approach. I’ve actually just started reading the book by Linda Bacon, and am finding it a wonderful, eye-opening and thought-provoking experience.

    Congrats on improving your time!

  3. That show makes me cringe. I can’t believe so many find it inspiring. As for the article from the runners, I mostly agree, but honestly, I don’t think 100 calorie a day worth of exercise or eating 100 less will really contribute significantly to weight loss, unless one is only a few pounds heavy, or wants to take 10 years to lose their weight. I’ve lost 50 pounds, and while I didn’t diet, it was more effort than eating an oreo or two less daily, or a 10 minute walk.

  4. I think the article is rubish and really wonder what show they are watching. On many seasons the trainers have berated the contestants on NOT eating. They make it a point to state that the body requires fuel and that it is important to fuel it appropriately, so I really have no idea what this starvation talk is all about. The show has changed many lives on the show itself and in homes all over America. You see anyone else actually making any headway in this department? The show reaches millions and is helping millions. How could you not be inspired by their stories. Unless of course the show runs exactly like you want it to?

  5. Pingback: Recycling some old posts… « Fat Girl on a Run

Leave a Reply

