more on running

I did it!

Today, I did my first-ever run, in my fleet and unstoppable new shoes. I had no idea what to expect, whether I’d be straggling along after the first thirty seconds or what. (Actually, that’s not quite honest: I DID have an expectation… I expected that I’d be straggling along after the first thirty seconds). But – joy of joys – it was actually easier, more fun, better than I expected. My training program only calls for one minute of running to start – one minute of running, six minutes of walking, repeat three times and you’re done – and each time, when I checked my watch, I realized that I’d gone over a minute and I wasn’t hurting at all. This gives me hope.

Also, when I told some folks in my community what I was doing, several asked if they could run with me. I rebuffed most of them, until I got worn down by rebuffing and said yes to one woman, with whom I’m not too close. This was serendipitous, ’cause it turns out that she’s a triathlete, loves to help new runners, and was completely supportive of my taking-it-very-easy-to-start-with strategy (and also totally convinced that I could be ready for a 5K by mid-March, which is my stretch goal). So yay! This gives me more hope.

In the comments on the last post, several people asked for info on the awesome store where I bought my shoes and the awesome super-beginners running program.  Here they are:

Awesome store: Bryn Mawr Running Company. I went to their location in Media, PA.

Super-beginners running program: About.com How to Get Started Running. (More gradual than the Couch to 5K program mentioned by a commenter).

You didn’t ask for it, but here’s a couple online stores that I found that carry plus-size running gear:

Two Roads Fitness (carries a variety of brands, up to size 24 or so in many; this is where I bought my running pants, yet to be delivered)

Team Estrogen (carries SportHill in plus sizes, up to a 32. To find it, go to “apparel” and then narrow your search by “plus size”)

Happy running!

7 responses to “more on running

  1. I’m glad to hear this is going so well for you. Keep us posted on your progress!

  2. I’m impressed and inspired. I haven’t worked out yet today, and I think I’m going to go out and do this in just a little bit (once I’ve finished reading the feed ;-)

  3. Grats! Maybe this will inspire me to actually take a walk today…

  4. thefrenchkitchen

    Hi – I just saw your blog on the WordPress homepage and have been reading for like the past hour. It’s so col that I came across your recent posts on running. I am not an athlete and never enjoyed running in school or anything. But randomly last summer I decided running would be a good way to fill up some free time and relieve stress. I fell in love and ran a 10K this March and a half-marathon in April. I cannot tell you how amazing it is to have feelings of accomplishment, self-satisfaction, “wow I’m badass” etc etc. It’s just fabulous. Unfortunately, life events kept me from continuing to run until just yesterday. I got back out there and felt great. One of the ways I’ve found to keep myself motivated (because believe me there are days you do NOT want to run or get off the couch or whatever) is reading books about running, specifically women who run. Some suggestions, if you’re interested:
    The Non-Runners Marathon Guide for Women by Dawn Dais (http://www.amazon.com/Nonrunners-Marathon-Guide-Women-Training/dp/1580052053)
    Even if you aren’t planning to run a marathon anytime soon (or ever), the author is hilarious. I found the more I read of her book, the more I felt like running.
    Another book I’m just started is Women Who Run by Shanti Sosienski (http://www.amazon.com/Women-Who-Run-Shanti-Sosienski/dp/1580051839)
    It’s a quick read and gives brief bios/stories of different kinds of women who run for different reasons. I just finished a chapter about the first women to complete marathons when women weren’t even allowed to run in marathons. It’s incredibly empowering.

    Anyway, I really hope you enjoy running and are able to push yourself on those days that running is not something you’re excited to do. I’ve found that the benefits are far-reaching and I’m not even talking about weight loss/fitness. There is something special about learning that you can be self-disciplined, that you can push yourself a little further each time, or that you can run a race without dying (always my #1 goal ;).

    So good luck. I wish you all the best!

    -Amy at thefrenchkitchen.wordpress.com

    PS I LOVE YOUR RUNNING SHOES :D

  5. Amy – Thank you! I will definitely check those out. I know from experience (with other things, not running) that feeling a part of something – sharing in the authors’ jokes and joys and complaints – makes me more motivated to keep doing it.

  6. Pingback: Recycling some old posts… « Fat Girl on a Run

Leave a Reply

