public service announcement: chilled peach soup

Years ago, when I lived in Washington D.C. in a fancy-pants neighborhood where Whole Foods was the only grocery store in feasible walking distance, I had my first taste of cold peach soup. I bought a pint of it from the deli, then went back and bought eight more pints. And that was just Saturday. (No, really. On Sunday I went back but they had cycled in a different cold soup. For months I stopped by Whole Foods EVERY DAMNED DAY to check their soup offerings and to pick up some peach deliciousness if it was available. Then winter came, then I moved, and now Whole Foods seems to have abandoned their recipe and I’ve been meaning to make some of my own ever since.)

This weekend, faced with the first truly hot-ish temperatures of the year, I decided to finally take the plunge and make the soup myself. I used this recipe because it calls for frozen peaches and fresh local peaches aren’t yet in season up here in northlands. I omitted the nutmeg and white wine because I didn’t have any in my kitchen (wtf? how do I not have nutmeg? white wine I understand – I’m not much of a wine drinker – but nutmeg? I guess I used it up last Christmas?). Both would be appreciated, especially the wine, but even without OH MY GOD it’s delicious.

The recipe pretty much goes like this: put peaches and some other stuff into the blender, blend, eat. Seriously, it takes about 90 seconds. So go forth and enjoy!

3 responses to “public service announcement: chilled peach soup

  1. Oh my – this sounds amazing! By an interesting coincidence, I’m off to the grocery store in a few. I think I’ll pick up a few things and blend myself some :) Thanks!

  2. Did you make, it Anne? How did it turn out?

  3. Did you substitute another liquid for the white wine? I actually have white wine (weird, I never have wine) but I don’t want to open a bottle for a 1/4 cup. I googled cold peach soup and your blog came up. The recipe looks great and your blog is awesome! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

