my personal ad, for your review

Title: Girl from the North Country

Introduction:

I’m a seeker. I’ve got my eyes wide open and I’m looking for my next move.

I love politics, even when they enrage me. I love cities, even when they overwhelm me.

I’m always itching for a change of scenery, and I’m happiest when I’m on the road.

I’m an aspiring yogini, I love the state fair like it’s my long-lost twin sister, I put maple syrup on my eggs and I’ll drop everything to see Lawrence of Arabia in a theater.

What I’m looking for:

Heck, I get along with everyone. But the people I like best are irreverent, intellectually curious, and easygoing.

The word or phrase that best describes my personality
Curious

Fill in the blank: _____ is sexy; _____ is sexier.
A slow smile is sexy; laughing out loud is sexier.

If I could be anywhere right now

… I’d be in Chefchaouen, sipping orange juice at a cafe in the central square.

If I was given a million dollars
… I’d retire. Is a million dollars enough to retire
on these days?

Five items I can’t live without

1. A library. 2. A coffee shop. 3. My passport. 4. Enough cash to escape. Sounds like a perfect day, right?

The role religion plays in my life

I’m a seeker. I grew up without a spiritual community
and I’ve felt that absence throughout my life.

My personal motto or creed

“Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language. Do not now look for the answers. They cannot now be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything. At present you need to live the question. Perhaps you will gradually, without even noticing it, find yourself experiencing the answer, some distant day.” – Rainer Maria Rilke

Favorite item of clothing

Red suede peep-toe pumps. If you look up “party shoes” in the dictionary, there would be a picture of these.

And the thing is? I’m not even a peep-toe pumps kind of girl. I spend my days in Danskos or Vans. But I put these on, and I can see the appeal of the girly-girl life.

In my refrigerator one will find…
Good stuff. I eat healthfully AND joyfully. I’ve got salad fixin’s, raspberries, sparkling water, freaky-flavored yogurt (lychee lime! honey rosemary!)… but also some leftover flourless chocolate cake and frozen corn dogs (they’re my dirty little dietary secret).

What I like – or dislike – about what I do for a living

I have a great job, but I’m looking for more than that. I believe in vocation, and I’m still searching for mine.

The type of family I come from
A great one. Parents just celebrated their 40th anniversary. One sister, six years older. We’re all close.

My favorite way to spend a weekend

Yoga in the morning. Brunch with mimosas. A good book in a long bath. Friends over for vino and viands.

5 albums I can’t live without

Nashville Skyline. Graceland. The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter. The mix tapes my sister makes me. At Folsom Prison.

Movies which spend the most time in my DVD player

Um, does the West Wing box set count?

… So. What do you think? Comments and criticism are more than welcome. That’s the whole point of doing this thing in public, you know? You all can help me do a better job at dating than I’ve managed on my own, and in exchange I’ll try to be as entertaining as possible.

4 responses to “my personal ad, for your review

  1. Totally winning, and inspiring! I think dating and the idea of dating is the scariest thing ever- so your confident bravery puts me officially in awe of you.

  2. um, so i’m just reading up here, and i think you’re freaking awesome! i can’t wait to hear about the great people you’ll meet.
    annie (i will stop being creepy now)

  3. I’m following Annie around and I agree with here :-) I’d date you except for one minor detail. I like guys.

    Don’t know if you’re still using this, but it’s great!

  4. I am still using it. Thank you, everyone!

Leave a Reply

