existential angst

Ok, as promised, I’m working on a personal ad. I’m putting some effort into this. I want it to be authentically me… but I also want it to be appealing.

I mean, it’s not that I’m not appealing. But I’m not sure that I’m personal-ad appealing. I’m introspective. I like a lot of solitude. I love to talk about the things that you’re never supposed to talk about (religion, politics). And, to be perfectly honest, I’m not all that thrilled with my life these days. The people who seem appealing in personal ads are people who are enthusiastic about what they’re up to, whether it’s grad school, or hanging with their dude friends, or raising their daughter. That’s not me.

Here’s what I put on okcupid a few years ago:

Here’s me: I love my job, even when it frustrates me. I love politics, even when they enrage me. I love cities, even when they overwhelm me. I’m always itching for a change of scenery, and I’m happiest when I’m on the road. I read four newspapers every day, I put maple syrup on my eggs and I’ll drop everything to see Lawrence of Arabia in a theater.

This is all true. But put together it says “quirky, spontaneous, seat-of-the-pants kind of gal”… and that is emphatically not.

If anybody is reading, and it would shock me if anybody was, commentary would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

